foreverbookworm

Once Upon A Time: Red’s Untold Tale

Leave a comment

I know, I know, we’re already a 1/4 of the way into the new year and I’m only just making my first post – shame on me! But I am happy to be getting into the swing of it again! πŸ™‚

So today I’m going to be reviewing Red’s Untold Story by Wendy Toliver.

I recently started watching the TV series Once Upon A Time (OUAT), which takes place in Storybrooke, Maine USA and explores the lives of various fairytale characters as they are cursed to live in the modern world. After binge watching 5 series, I was hooked *wink, wink*. Unfortunately now I have the antagonising wait for series 6 to come out on DVD. So to fill the void left in my free time, I wondered if anyone had written books to go with the series, and after a quick search I came across Red’s Untold Tale. As Red (aka Little Red Riding Hood) is one of my favourite characters, I thought this was prefect and couldn’t wait to read it!

The story takes place pre-Storybrooke/curse and meeting Mary Margaret days and includes flashbacks to when Red was a child. Although it did start a bit slow, Red’s ‘voice’ and character really started to come out, and I was able to recognise the Red I know from the TV series. It was also nice to get to know the towns and people a bit more, including Granny and Peter. *snif*

I think this is definitely more of a coming of age story for Red as it follows her sixteen year old self of trying to figure out who she is, deal with the horrid girls at school, her first love and tries to deal with an over protective and at times kind of harsh Granny.

Although it’s definitely written more for a YA audience, I think all fans of OUAT will enjoy this story. It doesn’t have all the answers to the questions you’ll have about Red, and I really hope there is a sequal. However, I did like that it wasn’t too long (it only took me a few hours to read), yet was interesting enough and enjoyable to reading. Β Honestly, I wish more books were this length, for when you need an interesting read, but don’t have the time time or energy to slug through 500+ dense pages of text.

Also I just want to say that I read the hardcover edition, and it’s really cute! Also, it looks fairly thick, but as the pages aren’t a big and the text is more spread out, it’s not as bad as it looks. We need more books like this!

So, want to read Red’s Untold Take? It’s available in both paperback and hardcover from The Book Depository.

If you want more OUAT reads, author Wendy Toliver’s next story, Regina Rising, is out next month and available for pre-order from The Book Depository.Β There’s also Rewakened by Odette Beane as well as various comics set in the OUAT universe.

 

Leave a Reply

